Olivia Robinson, B.A. Human Kinetics
LaRoccaXC Summer Camp Director 2019 message

Olivia Robinson

Olivia Robinson is the lead trail builder and assistant director of the Bouldership™ program. This spring, she completed her undergraduate degree in Human Kinetics at the University of Ottawa and is currently in the process of establishing her practice as a kinesiologist, as she is harmonizing with the natural landscape in the forest gym at LaroccaXC. As a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer, she envisions coaching in the trails and creating “WOD” pods along the Zone 1 trails of the Amik Forest.

Olivia hails from Northern Ontario, her roots lie in the Boreal forest, on the Canadian shield. Daughter of a social worker and geography teacher, her parents have influenced her approach in kinesiology. Thus, her health intervention philosophy stems from a socio-ecological perspective.

She grew up swimming competitively and played a multitude of school and recreational sports. As a teen, she developed an interest in social justice, and embarked on a Me to We trip to Ghana at the age of 16. Her increased awareness of the social and ecological injustices led her to pursue initiatives upon her return through the Me to We club in her school. Furthermore, she participated in Me to We’s Advanced Facilitation Training in Patagonia, Arizona; where she developed skills to facilitate leadership modules using inclusive principles.

Her deeply rooted passion for the outdoors led her to working in the silviculture industry as a tree planter throughout the summers of her undergraduate studies. After planting upwards of 300,000+ trees, she is phasing out of building forests for toilet paper, and is now focusing on building and maintaining sustainable trails in the Amik Forest. As the lead trail builder, her role is to be an active ambassador of the Leave No Trace sustainability model, as she will share these practices with those who come to experience the forces of nature in the Amik Trails.

Olivia has experienced first-hand the power of the Boulder Outdoor Leadership Program. Her journey as a Boulder began in 2015 when she participated in a mountain biking retreat for teenage girls. She continued to evolve as a Boulder in the following 4 years, leading her to completing her undergraduate degree internship with Creative Wheel. Being a mentoree in the Boulder program has challenged and empowered Olivia’s creative endeavors in poetry, forest filmmaking, and entrepreneurship. The program has fostered her transition from organized sports in high school to XC fitness through mountain biking, trail running, snowshoeing, and skate skiing. She is excited to mentor the Boulders this summer, and hopes to spark leadership in the 3 As of the Long-Term Athlete, Artist, and Agent of change Development (L.T.A.A.A.D.).

Coach Olivia looks forward to sharing her love of the forest and fitness with everyone she encounters on the Amik Trails!

NEWS

  • YES TO FATBIKE! Entrevue Fatbike Daybreak sur CBC Radio One 15 janvier 2015
  • Learn to Mountain Bike - A great stress buster Modern life causes a lot of stress, and it can even be seen in schools these days. Learning to manage stress is an essential asset in personal growth. Helping our children learn how to manage stress when they are a young child or a teen is a way of preparing them for a successful life. To learn more about this exceptional summer camp
  • Building mountain biking and leadership skills If running a mountain bike school doesn't seem like enough work, how about designing and building trails, maintaining 108 acres of forest and operating a consulting business? Read more about LaRocca XC school

Video – Voir la vie en vert

Thank you Zacharie Turgeon for truly capturing the spirit of my vision.

Olivia Robinson, B.A. Sciences de l'activité physique
LaRoccaXC Summer Camp Director 2019 message

Olivia Robinson

Olivia Robinson est chargée de la construction des sentiers et directrice adjointe du Bouldership™. Ce printemps, elle a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle en sciences de l’activité physique à l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle est présentement dans le processus d’établir sa pratique en tant que kinésiologue œuvrant en harmonie avec le milieu naturel du gymnase vert à LaroccaXC. Comme entraineur de CrossFit Niveau 1, elle envisage des parcours d’entrainement ayant des stations de « WOD » au long des sentiers dans la Zone 1 de la Forêt Amik.

Olivia est originaire du nord de l’Ontario ; ses racines se trouvent dans la forêt boréale, sur le Bouclier canadien. Fille de travailleuse sociale et d’enseignant de géographie ; ses parents ont eu une influence sur son approche de la kinésiologie. C’est-à-dire que sa philosophie d’intervention en santé holistique s’inspire du modèle socioécologique.

Sa jeunesse fut encadrée par la natation compétitive ainsi qu’une panoplie de sports scolaires et récréatifs. Comme adolescente, elle a développé un intérêt pour la justice sociale, et a entrepris un voyage Me to We au Ghana à l’âge de 16 ans. La conscientisation sociale et écologique au travers de cette expérience, a mené à son implication au sein du club Unis pour Agir dans son école secondaire. Par la suite, elle a approfondi ses connaissances par l’intermédiaire du Me to We Advanced Facilitation Training à Patagonia, en Arizona ; une formation en animation de modules de leadership guidée par des principes d’inclusion et de responsabilisation sociales.

Sa passion pour le nature a été transmise dans son travail au sein de l’industrie de la sylviculture comme planteuse d’arbres, pendant les trois derniers étés. Après avoir planté plus de 300 000 arbres, elle s’est retirée de la construction de forêts pour le papier toilette, et se concentre maintenant à la création et au maintien de sentiers durables dans la Forêt Amik. Elle a un mandant visant la durabilité à 100 % en tant qu’ambassadrice du modèle Sans Trace.

Olivia a vécu son propre cheminement dans le programme Boulder. Son parcours en tant que Boulder a été initié en 2015, lorsqu’elle a participé à une retraite de vélo de montagne pour les adolescentes. Elle a continué à évoluer en tant que Boulder pendant les 4 années suivantes, menant à son expérience d’internat avec Creative Wheel. Son cheminement a inspiré son processus créatif personnel ; en poésie, en réalisation de film plein air, et en entrepreneuriat. Le programme Boulder a ainsi guidé sa transition des sports organisés vers les activités physiques plein air telles que le vélo de montagne, la course en sentier, la raquette et le ski de fond patin. Elle est enthousiasmée d’œuvrer comme mentor dans le cadre du programme Boulder. Olivia espère stimuler le leadership à travers les trois As du développement à long terme de l’athlète, l’artiste, et l’agent de changement (D.L.T.A.A.A.).

À tous ceux qui seront accueillis par la Forêt Amik, Coach Olivia souhaite partager la magie des sentiers avec vous!

MÉDIA

  • OUI A «FATBIKE»! Entrevue Fatbike Daybreak sur CBC Radio One 15 janvier 2015
  • Apprendre par le vélo de montagne - Gérer le stressLa vie moderne apporte beaucoup de stress, et ça se voit déjà à l’école. Apprendre à gérer son stress est un atout incontestable pour l’épanouissement personnel. Permettre à nos jeunes de l’apprendre durant l’enfance ou l’adolescence, c’est de les outiller pour une vie réussie. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de ce camp de vacances exceptionnel
  • « Building mountain biking and leadership skills » If running a mountain bike school doesn't seem like enough work, how about designing and building trails, maintaining 108 acres of forest and operating a consulting business? (anglais seulement) En savoir plus sur l'école de vélo de montagne LaRoccaXC

Video – Voir la vie en vert

Merci Zacharie Turgeon.